Lingfield is a large village, slightly isolated, in the
south-east of Surrey. The Church of St. Peter and St. Paul is the only large one
of the Perpendicular style in Surrey. It was rebuilt in 1431, although the
original 14th century tower remains, and contains the finest collection of
brasses in Surrey.
The area around the church has been designated a
conservation area and includes many buildings, beautifully preserved, from the
16th to 18th centuries. In the main street, there is a cross and village cage.
The cage, last used in 1882 to hold a poacher, was built in 1773.
The library is housed in the Old Guest House of the
College for Secular Chaplains built in 1431. This hall-house is all that remains
of the original College but an 18th century farmhouse, called the College, marks
the site of the original establishment.
Lingfield is famous for its racecourse with race days
every month, including turf, National Hunt, all-weather racing and harness
racing. On the Haxted Road towards Edenbridge, is Haxsted Mill. The
double-fronted mill was built in two halves, the first around 1580 and the other
in 1794. It has been fully restored and is a unique combination of a working
watermill and a museum of mill machinery used for water-power. There is also a
picture gallery and bistro and pleasant walks along the River Eden.
On the A22 near Lingfield is the London Temple of the
Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints known as the Mormon Church. The
temple, only open to followers of that sect, has a visitors' centre where the
beliefs of the Mormons are explained and visitors can also stroll in the
Below we have articles of historical interest sent
to us by our visitors.
Some personal history of Lingfield can be found by
clicking here, by David Charman.
We also have information on Wier Courtney around 1940 -
1949. Please click here for more info.
The mystery of Lingfield Chalybeate Spring, by Fiona
McIntosh. Please click here.
We have also received an e-mail with additional
information on the history of Lingfield, and it was supplied by Des from
Adelaide in Australia. He was flicking through a book in the library
recently and came across the following picture of the Old Cage taken in 1926.
Taken from a book called "Picturesque Great Britain",
by E. O. Hoppe.
Published & printed by Ernst Wasmuth A.G. / Berlin W8 1926
Haven't things changed in the last 80 years
If you have any old pictures or
information of historical interest please
For a wider range of photos of Lingfield please click the
logo below which will take you to the Frith Photos website. All the photos can
be ordered online.